Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum!
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 2:24 am

All times are UTC-07:00

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:34 am 
3 Deuce Weber

Car Model:
My 66 Belvedere just went into the body shop to fix the minimal rust and dents. Putting the turbo/engine work on hold since I'm not really driving the car regularly yet. I am gathering my parts for the upgrade though.

Not sure how far I want to go on restoring it. Money is definitely a factor. It's original paint and I thought I might just fix the rust, blend in some color and leave what original paint exists. My buddy is doing the work and he's quite talented says to do it right because it's so nice. The car is very clean and he's already pulling out both the front and rear windshields because of slight rust and gasket breakdown. Decisions decisions. I'm not good at showing restraint. Lol

Just wanted to give some information on the car so it's understood where I'm going with the car. Here's the point.

I saw a picture of a Belvedere lowered with 18s and 20s on it. I was shocked, to say the least. I liked the way it looked...a lot! I spoke to a man at Coys and he guarantees proper fitment without rubbing. Rear wheel size is 20x8.5 with zero offset and a 275/35/20 and in the front a 18x7 with I think a 4 inch backspace (I have to double check that) with a 235/40/18.

At the risk of being the read the suspension, original intent and stupid look riot act, I'd like to consider doing this wheel and lowering treatment to the car. I understand there will be some necessary suspension upgrades as well brake upgrades needed.