Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum upgrade!
It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:29 pm

All times are UTC-07:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:38 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
Ed, thanks that's what I thought.. Less air=Less fuel.


Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:47 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 8:20 pm
Posts: 1604
Location: Oxford, Georgia
Car Model*:
And usually the Megasquirt will recalibrate itself for the altitude each time you switch it on, so this generally doesn't require manual retuning.

_________________
"Mad Scientist" Matt Cramer
'66 Dart - turbocharged 225
My blog - Mad Scientist Matt's Lair


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:55 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
It will??

the non-linear Baro correction was set to al 0.0's in all the bins.. And usually the idle is a bit high once it warms up etc.. But it is not always high (the Idle) So I thought I would put a couple of varabiles into the baro correction bins and see what I get. I seems to smooth out the overall running of the car when it's 98kpa at startup I have the 98kpa bin set to -1.0% and 98.5 set to 0.0 %



Whaddya Think? Also I do not run a separate map sensor for baro correction.

How do the oem's take care of this??


Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:40 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 13307
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Car Model*:
What version of megatune are you using? Mine do not have a table for nonlinear baro correction.

Lou

_________________
"You mean you still have a Slant 6 in that thing?"


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:58 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
Lou, I have megatune 2.25p3 (ironic Huh?)

screenshots below..
Image

Image

Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:38 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 13307
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Car Model*:
OK, I need to get that version. I have 2.1 something.

Lou

_________________
"You mean you still have a Slant 6 in that thing?"


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:29 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 8:20 pm
Posts: 1604
Location: Oxford, Georgia
Car Model*:
It's not the MegaTune version so much as the processor and firmware version - Gregg is running an MS2.

_________________
"Mad Scientist" Matt Cramer

'66 Dart - turbocharged 225

My blog - Mad Scientist Matt's Lair


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:57 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 13307
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Car Model*:
Ah, so I guess MSI does not allow baro map corrections...

I have MSII units on the shelf, just haven't gotten around to rewiring for ign advance control and installing them.

Lou

_________________
"You mean you still have a Slant 6 in that thing?"


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:17 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 8:20 pm
Posts: 1604
Location: Oxford, Georgia
Car Model*:
MS1 does have baro correction, but it doesn't have a trim table like MS2.

_________________
"Mad Scientist" Matt Cramer

'66 Dart - turbocharged 225

My blog - Mad Scientist Matt's Lair


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:14 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
Lou, Do it man it's worth it.. If all you have to do is wire the coil and Triggers.. Not all that Hard.. I say it can be done in less than 4 Hours with troubleshooting and all.


G

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
TBI Slant 6
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:28 am
Posts: 232
Location: Austin, Tx
Car Model*:
Any rough m.p.g figures yet? NICE clean install,sounds great,and under 1500 bux,you da man :twisted:

I have a 67 Dart and am thinking EFI/Turbo with a A-500 trans(auto OD) Someday....I can dream cant I? :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:35 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
Well after almost 2 years the City MPG is anywhere from 14-19MPG.

This car Dosent do much hiway driving But I have a few figures ranging from 19-22 MPG - I would like to do the EDIS conversion next summer and Possibly try a Different cam, and a t-5 trans too.


Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Update 11-24-10
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 9:05 am 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5030
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
So after Running this MS-II for 2.5 Years successfully on the street - 20,000 Plus miles and one time to the dragstrip and one really long 1300 mile trip to the slant 6 banquet in feb 2010, I am still doing more twaeking.



I recently changed some of the variables in the automatic mixture control settings.

Automatic mixture control in MS-II is like the old autotune except it does not require the laptop to be connected.

It auto tunes and updates the VE table every 5 minutes in my settings. In theory the EGO correction should be 100% all of the time after a while with automatic Mixture control on. 100% means no boost or cut in any of the bins of the VE table.

I currently allow the 02 Sensor correction at 9% so it can go up to 109% or down to 91% or anywhere inbetween.


Last city Mpg reading from yesterday's fillup was 17.1 MPG on a 200+ miles of driving.

Not bad for an old 2 valve engine with rocker arms.



Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
69 Dart http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Supercharged

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:53 pm
Posts: 4299
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Car Model*:
Greg Ondayko wrote:
Lou, Do it man it's worth it.. If all you have to do is wire the coil and Triggers.. Not all that Hard.. I say it can be done in less than 4 Hours with troubleshooting and all.


G


Greg, that all sounds wonderful, and I am envious for sure.

I wish I could say I have had the same experience. I have not gotten mine to run yet with timing controlled by the ECU. I had everything wired as per instructions, and I thought ignition settings were done correctly. It would fire, but not start. I then made the fatal error of switching the coil settings without disconnecting the coils, and scrambled things so it does not run at all. They warn you about this, by the way. The thing that was really wierd was that the timing light showed there was spark and right on time. It was as if the timing was 180 out. The MSD box passed a static test. It baffled me, and I gave up.

I put the MS I back in, and fired it right up as always.

Since this MSD box is the only common component to the MS II and the Accel which never ran right, I am thinking the MSD box must have some hidden flaw.

MAtt is right, of course. The ini file make the tuning software look like what it needs to in order for it to show the things needed to tune the firmware installed in the ECU. I am hoping the problem with my MS II is all firmware related, and not hardware.

Sam

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Smart People!
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:31 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 7:57 pm
Posts: 5939
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.
Car Model*: 65 Valiant 2Dr Post
All you smart people make my head hurt! :? Now where did I put my new set of high performance points at? :lol:

Rick

_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!
Image
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 9 Next

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited