Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum upgrade!
It is currently Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:04 pm

All times are UTC-07:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: gas gauge sending units
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:27 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:00 pm
Posts: 1721
Location: kankakee IL
Car Model*: 80 volare, 78 fury 2 dr, 85 D150
has anyone here used the new aftermarket/ reproduction ones that can be had now a days?
My son has bought 2 in recent years... both stainless and very nice looking, but both show "E" with 1/2 a tank still left. I have been driving his 80 D150 and could "watch the gauge needle drop" as my Dad and his generation used to say..... but in actuality for where the gauge reads, it takes much less to fill than would be expected..... I stopped and topped off the kid's truck (1st time I have taken it to work, 70 mile round trip)
I left home with "3/4 tank" indicated/ went 35 miles to work and was down to "1/2 tank" and between 1/2 and 1/4, 8 miles from work,,, filled up, and did all I could do to squeeze 6-1/4 gallons into it..... and when I left it said "Full". took 6-1/4 gallons to fill an 18 gallon tank, gauge showed about 3/8 tank "left", at this point. going by gauge I would have expected to have to put 2x that much gas in....
His Ramcharger is same way. only its tank is 36 gallons. same brand of sending unit. he was down to "gauge don't move from Empty" thinking he wa son fumes when it only takes 18 gallons to fill, if filled "as soon as" it pegs "E".
is there a better source for more accurate sending units, since it would be near impossible to find NOS ones? Id rather have them fit like original, like these ones he bought, do.
I know the one for the 80 Pickup came from Van's LLC. the Ramcharger one came from Ebay, don't remember the seller.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:55 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Contributor

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 5:39 pm
Posts: 23595
Location: North America
Car Model*:
Read this and this.

_________________
一期一会
Too many people who were born on third base actually believe they've hit a triple.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:49 am 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5830
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
I had posted on this a while back.. same time a rich did.

I have a (probably ) aftermarket replacement sender in the 64 Dart.. when I got the car the fuel gauge did not work at all, even with the new sender.

I replaced the bad gauges and 5v regulator in the gauge with a solid state one from RTE.
so with the new regulator and aftermarket sender the gauge never reads correct 'cept when totally full.

I bought the metermatch from the article dan mentioned.
I will report back after i calibrate and get it installed.

I figured that was easier than finding proper resistance wire and reerapping the wiper in the sending unit.

Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:40 am 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 9:20 pm
Posts: 12612
Location: Fircrest, WA
Car Model*: 76 D100
This thread should be added to the FAQ post/stickies of the Electronics section of the board. This is great info.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:57 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 5830
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model*:
Got My Meter Match.

Ordered Saturday AM - Arrived Monday PM.. Fast From Washington to PA.

Techoversions seems to have their stuff together.. Run By a former Engineer with all the proper stuff to do it correctly.

Box comes with thorough and Skookum instrucciones on how to setup install and calibrate the box.
4 wires is all that's needed and you can hide the thing practically anywhere such as under the dash or in a kick panel.

I need to Supply a Power +12V and Ground as well as break the connection from the fuel sender to the gauge.

Me thinks that I can probably tap into or break the gauge sender wire at the Drivers' door Taillight Harness plug.. Will check for sure soon.

I plan on setting the meter at first by moving the sender arm all the way up for F, and All the way Down for E and see what happens.

If I can get it installed before the Carlisle Trip that would be super!

Greg

_________________
Greg Ondayko
http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited