Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Home Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search

Click here to make a donation to the Slant Six Forum!

help! can't see!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Slant Six Forum, Forum Index -> How to use this Message Board
Select message display options:             View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
75valiant
TBI Slant 6


Joined: 10 Apr 2012
Posts: 181
Location: Central Oklahoma

Post subject: help! can't see! (Tue May 28, 2013 5:53 am) Reply with quote

i can't see my buttons, such as reply, search, profile, etc. it has been like this for a couple of days now. i just found out that they are apparently still there, but i can't see them. i don't know if it's my laptop, a setting, or something on your end, but it looks like the board is working.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charrlie_S
SL6 Racer & Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 7250
Location: Silver Springs, Fl.

Post subject: (Tue May 28, 2013 10:03 am) Reply with quote

Hmmmmmmm!!!!!!. I have the same problem, when using Google Chrome. I thought it was my computer. It works fine, using IE browser.



_________________
Charrlie_S
65 Valiant 100 2dr post 170 turbo
66 Cuda 170 nitrous
66 Valiant Signet 225 nitrous
64 Valiant Signet
64 Valiant 4dr 170
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
75valiant
TBI Slant 6


Joined: 10 Apr 2012
Posts: 181
Location: Central Oklahoma

Post subject: (Tue May 28, 2013 10:36 am) Reply with quote

okay, i am at work now, and it's working fine. at work i use internet explorer, but google chrome at home. funny it just started doing this. i'll see what happens when i get home.

thanks!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ssg Pohlman
EFI Slant 6


Joined: 10 Jun 2012
Posts: 388
Location: Terre Haute IN

Post subject: (Tue May 28, 2013 12:03 pm) Reply with quote

Not sure if its the same but from email traffic:

Ms. Merrymopar (bootsnbolts) "if you could please post or send an email i'd appreciate it. it says i can post, reply, etc. but i can't, not anywhere on the site!"



_________________
225, Offenhauser, Holley 350, A833OD, 3:55, GM HEI,99 Durango starter
BOOSTED! WH1C, BIG FMIC, 10#
Operation Noble Eagle 03-05
Operation Iraqi Freedom 05-07
Operation Enduring Freedom 12- 13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chuck
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 1381
Location: Grass Valley, Ca.

Post subject: (Thu May 30, 2013 6:28 am) Reply with quote

This is a recent problem with Chrome and has been reported to Google. There is nothing more we can do.



_________________
Chuck Rivers, Webmaster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Louise76
EFI Slant 6


Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 482
Location: Seattle, WA

Post subject: (Thu May 30, 2013 9:44 pm) Reply with quote

Same problem with Chrome. I had to come in the back door using Internet Explorer.



_________________
"Louise", a 1976 Dart Custom project, (now sadly reverted to being just an "organ donor" to our other project Darts.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 1381
Location: Grass Valley, Ca.

Post subject: (Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:12 pm) Reply with quote

Firefox works OK, which is what I have been using the most. I don't use IE anymore because I had too many problems with it. I have Chrome on another computer but had not used it recently to view the forum. I can't imagine how Google managed to break it!



_________________
Chuck Rivers, Webmaster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
demoman3955
1 BBL (New)


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Location: antioch ca

Post subject: same problem here (Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:01 pm) Reply with quote

I mostly use google, and couldnt find the buttons as well, so i switched to I/E and everything is there now.



_________________
1968 Valiant 225
1969 Valiant 225
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nicholas482109
TBI Slant 6


Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Portland, Oregon

Post subject: (Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:54 pm) Reply with quote

I found a pretty good fix for this current problem

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ie-tab/hehijbfgiekmjfkfjpbkbammjbdenadd?hl=en-US

That is a Google Chrome extention that adds an icon near the options button. When pressed, the current tab acts as if it's Internet Explorer and fixes the issues viewing the board! If you like using chrome and don't want to have IE open just to view this page, try it out!



_________________
1978 4 door Dodge Aspen, Super Six
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
65CrewCabPW
EFI Slant 6


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 374

Post subject: (Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:24 am) Reply with quote

The only rolover graphic I see is the "home" button at the top, which, for me, is not located where I think it should be.

Looking at the code you use for the rollover highlights, I notice that the "home" button rollover is coded a little different and I see the home button, but NOT the rollover or hover.

I see the home button, and if I move the cursor over where I think the buttons should be, I get the cursor to change to show there's a link there, and the tooltips work fine.

I'd suggest changing the code for your menu and using one of these effects, instead of the

Code:
<a title="Profile" href="profile.php?mode=editprofile" class="mainmenu" onMouseOver="changeImages('btn_top_profile', 'templates/slantsix/images/lang_/btn_profile_on.gif'); return true;" onMouseOut="changeImages('btn_top_profile', 'templates/slantsix/images/lang_/btn_profile.gif'); return true;"><img name="btn_top_profile" src="templates/slantsix/images/lang_/btn_profile.gif" height="18" border="0" alt="Profile" hspace="1" /></a>


Try one of the following methods:

http://www.spiceupyourblog.com/2009/10/how-to-make-rollover-mouse-over-image.html

http://kyleschaeffer.com/user-experience/pure-css-image-hover/

Or, perhaps your coding and structure might work, but a little different coding, like the following discusses.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12080708/javascripts-onmouseout-event-not-working-as-expected



_________________
'81 W150 on Propane... Oversize valves, Oregon Camshaft cam, 10:5 static CR, Distributorless ignition, megajolt timing controller, PowerTrax lockers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 1381
Location: Grass Valley, Ca.

Post subject: (Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:16 pm) Reply with quote

The site works on IE & Firefox without any problems. Google has done something odd. My wife also can't print certain items from Chrome that are on a genealogy web site, but it works correctly in Firefox.

I haven't changed anything on the web site. The reason the home button is different is because I coded that button, while the rest were coded in the forum software. The forum software is written in PHP, which is a hard language for me to write. It's not that simple to change the button coding because everything is done in templates with parameters.

I haven't tried the solution listed above. If anyone else has tried it and got it to work, please post here.

Thanks,



_________________
Chuck Rivers, Webmaster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Select message display options:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Slant Six Forum, Forum Index -> How to use this Message Board All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Go To Slant Six Forum Home

Mopar Ring Member Site
Mopar Ring Member Site



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin, modified by Chuck Rivers