Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to make a donation to the Slant Six Forum!
This is a "new" board. Click here for info.

It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:08 pm

All times are UTC-08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 1162
Location: N. Ga.
I'm fixing to make some for other engines and thought i'd ask if anyone here was interested in one. I just bought another milling machine to take care of the light work.LOL
It's a BEAST at a little over 10,000 LBS, so it will get the job done. I'm working on getting it moved and hope to have it on its way to me by the end of this coming week. So as soon as I can get a head digitized I can start cranking out the torque plates and maybe even some billet main caps and other goodies.

Image

_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:41 pm 
Offline
TBI Slant 6

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 7:25 pm
Posts: 111
Location: SW PA
Sure, have a $$$ estimate? I may actually be able to pick-up a new one
in the low 400's, so...but that's only one, lol! Would this be billet, or??
That's a hell of a paper punch!!


Top
   
 Post subject: Niiiice!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:42 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 8:27 pm
Posts: 9998
Location: Salem, OR
I don't think I have seen a Cincinnati Mill... but in my field of work their power shears, brakes, and other equipment are like the old battleships... as long as they have power and lubricant they just keep working for decades....


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:16 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 7:57 pm
Posts: 5374
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.
Possibly depending on the price? Plus overbore size it will accept.

_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!
]Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 1162
Location: N. Ga.
Yeah, its built like a Battleship that's for sure, it will be great for decking blocks and heads also. They also make very rigid CNC machines as well. Rich and others, the cost is like most other things.....supply and demand. But I think there is a need for both a large bore torque plate for the 3.500" guys and the smaller ones that accommodate maybe just .060" stock bore.

_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:31 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 7:57 pm
Posts: 5374
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.
Is there any reason that you cant use the bigger bore size on the smaller bores? If I bought one I personally would want to be able to bore big.. Probably at least .130 over.

_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!

]Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 1162
Location: N. Ga.
Rick, the torque plate needs to stress the deck also as close to the bore as possible, so making a plate with a 3.600" opening for instance, and placing it on a near stock bore of 3.430" wouldn't have much impact on that block as it would a bore closer to the size of the actual bore. Many other engines have plates more specific to the size of the bore and one plate doesn't always fit all. A Small Block Chevy for instance has engines that have bore sizes ranging from 3.563" to 4.125", so you can see how ineffective a plate specific for the 4.125" would be if used on the much smaller bore of the other one.

_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:24 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 12291
Location: Blacksburg, VA
I would make the plate 3.54 to 3.56" and that should work 99% well for anything 3.43 - 3.46" and over. Hard to see how leaving out a layer < 0.060" in radius would hurt anything. Substantially thinner than the bore walls and the deck is thick.

Lou

_________________
If you're not careful, you might end up where you were headed.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:28 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 12291
Location: Blacksburg, VA
BTW, Rick, I have a plate if you want to use it. Will have to look on bore size.

Lou

_________________
If you're not careful, you might end up where you were headed.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:04 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 1162
Location: N. Ga.
Rick, companies such as BHJ and others only make their thru bore size in the plates .090"-.095" larger than the largest factory bore size for that particular engine family. So for the Slant's, 3.490"-3.495" is what the size would be for a store bought plate from them. Of course, going up to the size you want is going to be somewhat of a custom bore size and even a store bought plate would have to be opened up larger to accommodate your .135" overbore size. But no problem.

_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:53 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 7:27 pm
Posts: 11998
Location: Park Forest, Illinoisy
I just bought Mike's plate. It could be in loose hands if anyone is interested.

_________________
Proud supporter of Mike Jeffrey Racing Engines since 1999.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:37 pm 
Offline
SL6 Racer & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 12:06 pm
Posts: 7249
Location: Silver Springs, Fl.
My torque plate measures 3.525 bore.

_________________
Charrlie_S
65 Valiant 100 2dr post 170 turbo
66 Valiant Signet 225 nitrous
64 Valiant Signet
64 Valiant 4dr 170


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:01 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 1162
Location: N. Ga.
What brand is it?

_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:07 pm 
Offline
Board Sponsor

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 7:57 pm
Posts: 5374
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.
I honestly don't need a plate now. But if I was to buy one I would want it big enough to go to the biggest bore I might ever use. Greg was kind enough to let me borrow his plate for my current engine. This is one of those things that would be nice to have but that I probably don't need to buy.

_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!

]Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:37 pm 
Offline
SL6 Racer & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 12:06 pm
Posts: 7249
Location: Silver Springs, Fl.
CNC-Dude wrote:
What brand is it?


I don't know. I got it, maybe 13-14 years ago, from someone else. Actually, It still belongs to him, but I have been unable to contact him, to return it. It is just a few thousands less then 2 inches thick, and the outer edges are painted a sort of redish brown color ( like the color used on large electric motor windings).

_________________
Charrlie_S
65 Valiant 100 2dr post 170 turbo
66 Valiant Signet 225 nitrous
64 Valiant Signet
64 Valiant 4dr 170


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited