Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index
Home Slant Six Forum,  Forum Index Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search

Click here to make a donation to the Slant Six Forum!

Any interest in a Torque Plate for the Slant 6's?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Slant Six Forum, Forum Index -> Engine
Select message display options:             View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CNC-Dude
Turbo EFI


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1134
Location: N. Ga.

Post subject: Any interest in a Torque Plate for the Slant 6's? (Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:22 pm) Reply with quote

I'm fixing to make some for other engines and thought i'd ask if anyone here was interested in one. I just bought another milling machine to take care of the light work.LOL
It's a BEAST at a little over 10,000 LBS, so it will get the job done. I'm working on getting it moved and hope to have it on its way to me by the end of this coming week. So as soon as I can get a head digitized I can start cranking out the torque plates and maybe even some billet main caps and other goodies.




_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Killer6
TBI Slant 6


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 106
Location: SW PA

Post subject: (Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:41 pm) Reply with quote

Sure, have a $$$ estimate? I may actually be able to pick-up a new one
in the low 400's, so...but that's only one, lol! Would this be billet, or??
That's a hell of a paper punch!!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DusterIdiot
Board Sponsor


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 9824
Location: Salem, OR

Post subject: Niiiice!!!! (Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:42 am) Reply with quote

I don't think I have seen a Cincinnati Mill... but in my field of work their power shears, brakes, and other equipment are like the old battleships... as long as they have power and lubricant they just keep working for decades....


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rick Covalt
Board Sponsor


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 5295
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.

Post subject: (Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:16 am) Reply with quote

Possibly depending on the price? Plus overbore size it will accept.



_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!
]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNC-Dude
Turbo EFI


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1134
Location: N. Ga.

Post subject: (Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:50 am) Reply with quote

Yeah, its built like a Battleship that's for sure, it will be great for decking blocks and heads also. They also make very rigid CNC machines as well. Rich and others, the cost is like most other things.....supply and demand. But I think there is a need for both a large bore torque plate for the 3.500" guys and the smaller ones that accommodate maybe just .060" stock bore.



_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rick Covalt
Board Sponsor


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 5295
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.

Post subject: (Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:31 pm) Reply with quote

Is there any reason that you cant use the bigger bore size on the smaller bores? If I bought one I personally would want to be able to bore big.. Probably at least .130 over.



_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!
]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNC-Dude
Turbo EFI


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1134
Location: N. Ga.

Post subject: (Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:04 pm) Reply with quote

Rick, the torque plate needs to stress the deck also as close to the bore as possible, so making a plate with a 3.600" opening for instance, and placing it on a near stock bore of 3.430" wouldn't have much impact on that block as it would a bore closer to the size of the actual bore. Many other engines have plates more specific to the size of the bore and one plate doesn't always fit all. A Small Block Chevy for instance has engines that have bore sizes ranging from 3.563" to 4.125", so you can see how ineffective a plate specific for the 4.125" would be if used on the much smaller bore of the other one.



_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dart270
Board Sponsor & Moderator


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Posts: 12158
Location: Blacksburg, VA

Post subject: (Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:24 am) Reply with quote

I would make the plate 3.54 to 3.56" and that should work 99% well for anything 3.43 - 3.46" and over. Hard to see how leaving out a layer < 0.060" in radius would hurt anything. Substantially thinner than the bore walls and the deck is thick.

Lou



_________________
If you're not careful, you might end up where you were headed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dart270
Board Sponsor & Moderator


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Posts: 12158
Location: Blacksburg, VA

Post subject: (Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:28 am) Reply with quote

BTW, Rick, I have a plate if you want to use it. Will have to look on bore size.

Lou



_________________
If you're not careful, you might end up where you were headed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNC-Dude
Turbo EFI


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1134
Location: N. Ga.

Post subject: (Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:04 pm) Reply with quote

Rick, companies such as BHJ and others only make their thru bore size in the plates .090"-.095" larger than the largest factory bore size for that particular engine family. So for the Slant's, 3.490"-3.495" is what the size would be for a store bought plate from them. Of course, going up to the size you want is going to be somewhat of a custom bore size and even a store bought plate would have to be opened up larger to accommodate your .135" overbore size. But no problem.



_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slantzilla
Board Sponsor & Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 11904
Location: Park Forest, Illinoisy

Post subject: (Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:53 pm) Reply with quote

I just bought Mike's plate. It could be in loose hands if anyone is interested.



_________________
Proud supporter of Mike Jeffrey Racing Engines since 1999.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Charrlie_S
SL6 Racer & Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 7212
Location: Silver Springs, Fl.

Post subject: (Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:37 pm) Reply with quote

My torque plate measures 3.525 bore.



_________________
Charrlie_S
65 Valiant 100 2dr post 170 turbo
66 Cuda 170 nitrous
66 Valiant Signet 225 nitrous
64 Valiant Signet
64 Valiant 4dr 170
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNC-Dude
Turbo EFI


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1134
Location: N. Ga.

Post subject: (Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:01 pm) Reply with quote

What brand is it?



_________________
There's no such thing as too much cam....only not enough engine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rick Covalt
Board Sponsor


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 5295
Location: Waynesboro, Pa.

Post subject: (Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:07 pm) Reply with quote

I honestly don't need a plate now. But if I was to buy one I would want it big enough to go to the biggest bore I might ever use. Greg was kind enough to let me borrow his plate for my current engine. This is one of those things that would be nice to have but that I probably don't need to buy.



_________________
2 Mopars come with Spark plug tubes. One is a highly refined, record setting, world class, racing machine. The other is a 426 CI. boat anchor!
]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charrlie_S
SL6 Racer & Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 7212
Location: Silver Springs, Fl.

Post subject: (Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:37 pm) Reply with quote

CNC-Dude wrote:
What brand is it?


I don't know. I got it, maybe 13-14 years ago, from someone else. Actually, It still belongs to him, but I have been unable to contact him, to return it. It is just a few thousands less then 2 inches thick, and the outer edges are painted a sort of redish brown color ( like the color used on large electric motor windings).



_________________
Charrlie_S
65 Valiant 100 2dr post 170 turbo
66 Cuda 170 nitrous
66 Valiant Signet 225 nitrous
64 Valiant Signet
64 Valiant 4dr 170
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Select message display options:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Slant Six Forum, Forum Index -> Engine All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Go To Slant Six Forum Home

Mopar Ring Member Site
Mopar Ring Member Site



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin, modified by Chuck Rivers