Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum!
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:48 pm

All times are UTC-07:00

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2021 8:55 am 
2 BBL ''SuperSix''

Car Model: 1969 Dodge D200
Hey all, Dodge newbie here! I bought a '69 D200 with a slant 6 225 on a whim a couple weeks ago. It looks good from 10ft and ran well enough that I figured it couldn't be too much of a project to make a nice weekend cruiser or summer daily. Well, fast forward a week and I'm realizing it's running REALLY hot all the time and I can't get the timing to stabilize, and it's got a bad off idle stumble. Turns out the OE radiator was nearly fully plugged and limed up, so I've got one on order.

Started doing research and I see the timing chain slack is a common issue for jumpy timing, so since the radiator's out and I've got a wobbly dampener anyway, I pulled the front of the motor off and I definitely have a loose timing chain. Worse, it looks really dry... it's definitely NOT been getting oiled for.... a while. On the Sweptline Facebook group, a helpful member there pointed me to http://www.plymouthcarclub.com/2015/12/slant-six-timing-chain-oiling/ describing how the original bearings had a chamfer to provide oiling at the crank, with an alternate solution of custom drilling a galley plug.

My primary question at this point is... if I am removing the #1 bearing cap to inspect/clean out that chamfer, and find the upper bearing DOESN'T have the chamfer, is there a technical/engineering reason to not put the chamfer on the LOWER bearing cap since I've got it off anyway? (ref: blue circle in attached photo). I fully admit I'm not an engineer, but I have a fair amount of common sense and this seems (particularly given the tiny surface area being affected), like it couldn't have any real negative side effect, and prevents the need to take the crank out of the motor!