Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum!
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:31 am

All times are UTC-07:00

Post subject: Cam sensor success
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:31 am 
4 BBL ''Hyper-Pak''

Car Model:
I have been running Megasquirt 3X on my Dart for a few years now with moderate success. But I had no end of trouble keeping a stable idle AFR. After a lot of fiddling, I ended up deciding that my cheap-o injectors just wouldn't support the low pulse width required with semi-sequential injection. I already had a crank trigger and individual coils. I had previously converted my 440 in my Charger full sequential, so I went the same route with the 225. I was able to adapt a 4.0L Jeep cam position sensor to the distributor location on my slant. I think it's from a '98 model year.

After a few weeks driving, everything seems to be fine. I was concerned about the gear wear on the cam and I will probably continue to inspect that periodically. Overall it has solved my idle issues and even seems to help fire it off quicker. I think this mostly due to retuning the VE table and having longer injector pulses. With the new data, it's pretty clear that the fuel injectors were not operating in their controlled range under semi-sequential. Full sequential has pulse widths back over 3ms and it's working fine.

It was pretty simple to make the sensor work. Didn't require any special tools or machining. If anyone is interested I'll try to get some pictures up.

Post subject: Re: Cam sensor success
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:40 pm 
Supercharged

Car Model: 76 D100
Very interested! Pictures and instructions are always welcome.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:56 pm 
Supercharged

Car Model:
Reed wrote:
Very interested! Pictures and instructions are always welcome.

Yes.

I second!

Good work!

Greg

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 1:57 am 
Board Sponsor & Moderator

Car Model: