Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum!
It is currently Thu Aug 18, 2022 6:19 am

All times are UTC-07:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Adding a factory gauge
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:29 pm 
Offline
TBI Slant 6

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:06 pm
Posts: 123
Location: NC
Car Model: 78’ dodge D100 slant six
Hello folks me again :D I’d like to add a factory oil pressure gauge to my 78 d100. I’m confident I can make it work in a stand alone setting. That said, I will be keeping my dummy light and this will be an add on. How do I wire it up or is it a tube similar to the new ones? Thanks in advance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:48 am 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 7791
Location: IRWIN PA
Car Model:
The Light and the Factory Gauge have Different pressure transducers at the oil pump / pressure fitting .

You will need to add a plumbing T or some sort of other method there to use both.

The factory gauge will need one (additional) wire running from it to the proper (new) pressure transducer for that gauge.

I have done what you describe one my 79 Volare Duster, all of the trucks I have owned had the factory gauge factory installed. It is somewhat rare in my experience to have a truck with just a warning light.

Greg

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/hyperpack
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 6:53 pm 
Offline
TBI Slant 6

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:06 pm
Posts: 123
Location: NC
Car Model: 78’ dodge D100 slant six
Thanks for the info. What is the transducer for this? The light works flawless but I’m planning on relocating it to a small place in the “seat belt warning” area. I have wiring diagrams and such. I will also get the correct sending unit as well. Any other tips?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 12:12 am 
Offline
TBI Slant 6

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 221
Location: NW New Jersey
Car Model:
Right at the oil pump you will find the oil sender switch (on/off type switch based on minimum pressure threshold) for your stock oil pressure "idiot light". Your gauge will have its own way of detecting oil pressure. This may be an analog sensor (similar to your stock oil pressure switch with a wire connection), or may just need to tap a pressurized oil passage source; with the "sensing" function built into the gauge. Either way, your stock oil pressure switch is located in a good location to tap for your new gauge. The stock OP switch screws in with a 1/8" NPT nipple (switch = male, block = female). I found in the past that trying to screw a "T" into that dang hole doesn't work, as even a brass 1/8" NPT "T" hits the block while trying to screw it in. (I had to pull the oil pump to get the sucker in while turbocharging a '73 Dart). There may be other passages in the block you can tap, but I'm not sure.

_________________
Recognized by US Federal Courts as a Fuel Economy Expert!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited