Slant Six Forum
https://slantsix.org/forum/

good deal or not?? check out pics (56k warning 3 large pics)
https://slantsix.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7586
Page 1 of 1

Author:  SlantDusterMike [ Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  good deal or not?? check out pics (56k warning 3 large pics)

check out this holley 390 cfm 4 bbl and intake combo i came across. seller wants $150 + s&h, supposedly the carb is rebuilt and this combo was running on his /6, but looks like just a cheapie gasket job. aside from the carb looking beat, the intake looks beat too, but i was thinkng i could clean it up in the bast cabinet. also, doesnt the carb mounting plate look off center over the venturi bores?? i've never seen a /6 4bbl intake in person before...

what do you guys think??? good deal or not?

Image

Image

Image

Author:  69cuda69 [ Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

The manifold looks fine. Just a little dirty. This is an offenhauser manifold. the offset is correct. It has a top plate that bolts on that makes it look weird. Once the carb is on it you won't be able to notice it. I cant get the picture of the carb to come in so I cant see the condition of it. $150.00 sounds like a screamin deal to me. I spent $600.00 for my set up.

Author:  Daddiojoe [ Tue Nov 18, 2003 9:45 am ]
Post subject: 

:?: Who are you buying it from? There's one guy out there who's a lying sack and I wouldn't recommend him. He advertises Super Six setups on slantsix.com a lot and gives Canadians a bad name.

If it isn't him, looks like a good deal.

Joe

Author:  slantzilla [ Tue Nov 18, 2003 7:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

$150 for the intake and carb is cheap. :shock:

Daddiojoe, you wouldn't be speaking of our old friend 87 would you? I know he's been up to his old tricks on .com again. :roll:

Author:  Daddiojoe [ Wed Nov 19, 2003 6:35 am ]
Post subject:  Geez, there's more than one?

No, this is some little kid in NW Canada. Took two months to send me a ripped up box containing super six manifolds full of packing peanuts and a carb that he claimed he rebuilt. No kickdown linkage like he promised. It's been "in the mail" now since April. No block off plate either.

I was new to things and trusting. But luckily I was able to find the parts I never got from a junkyard.

Living and learning,

Joe

Author:  slantzilla [ Wed Nov 19, 2003 7:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Geez, there's more than one?

Quote:
No, this is some little kid in NW Canada. Took two months to send me a ripped up box containing super six manifolds full of packing peanuts and a carb that he claimed he rebuilt. No kickdown linkage like he promised. It's been "in the mail" now since April. No block off plate either.

I was new to things and trusting. But luckily I was able to find the parts I never got from a junkyard.

Living and learning,

Joe
Must not have been Justin then, you actually got something. :roll: :shock:

Author:  Daddiojoe [ Thu Nov 20, 2003 9:35 am ]
Post subject:  Well actually....

It was. :evil: He wasn't using the 87 in his name yet at that time.

Is there anything that can be done about this guy? Can his board privleges be taken away or something?

Author:  SlantDusterMike [ Thu Nov 20, 2003 9:38 am ]
Post subject: 

i closed the deal for $150 shipped, he is from the USA, so its not the same guy you guys are talkng about.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC-07:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/